ISOPRINOSINE



image

Amélioration de fonction immunisée dans les cancéreux
image Une étude in vitro sur les effets de l'isoprinosine sur des immuno-réactions dans les cancéreux
image Le nombre de cellules de T d'aide et la stimulation de phytohemagglutinin se corrèlent dans les cancéreux
image Thérapie des immunodéficits à cellule T secondaires avec des biologicalsubstances et des drogues
image Adjuvants à cellule T
Immunorestoration en chimiothérapie
image Résultats du traitement du papillome et du carcinome bronchogenic avec l'alpha d'interféron
image Potentialisation des effets cytotoxiques du fluorouracil 5 par l'inosiplex sur des cellules cancéreuses
Immunorestoration après chirurgie ou rayonnement
image Leukoplakia verrucous prolifératif oral (PVL) ; le procès ouvert de la chirurgie a rivalisé avec la thérapie combinée utilisant la chirurgie et le methisoprinol dans à PVL papillomavirus lié
image Thérapie combinée avec Isoprinosine et microchirurgie de laser de CO2 pour le traitement du papillomatosis laryngé
image Efficacité de thérapie orale de pranobex d'inosine dans l'infection humaine subclinique de papillomavirus du vulva : une étude commandée par placebo double-aveuglée randomisée
image Effets immunologiques d'isoprinosine comme immunothérapie d'impulsion dans le mélanome et les patients d'ARC
image Imunovir dans le traitement de l'immunodepression de l'étiologie diverse

L'amélioration clinique du syndrome chronique de fatigue est associée à la cytotoxicité communiquée par les cellules augmentée de tueur naturel : Les résultats d'un ® de Study With Isoprinosine de pilote

barre




Une étude in vitro sur les effets de l'isoprinosine sur des immuno-réactions dans les cancéreux

Tsang KY, Fudenberg HH, casserole JF, Gnagy MJ, CB de Bristow. International J Immunopharmacol 1983 ; 5(6) : 481-90.

Les effets in vitro d'Isoprinosine sur les immuno-réactions des cancéreux ont été étudiés. Quarante-sept patients avec les tumeurs primaires (carcinome de 26 poumons, adénocarcinome de 14 seins, mélanome 7) ont été étudiés. La prolifération causée par de lymphocyte de la concanavaline A (ConA), l'activité de la cellule tueuse naturelle (NK), et le chimiotactisme de monocyte ont été mesurés. Dans 40 des 47 patients (85%), la prolifération causée par ConA de lymphocyte était déprimée ; L'activité de NK a été diminuée dans 32 (68%), et le chimiotactisme de monocyte s'est avéré pour être diminué dans 36 (77%). En présence d'Isoprinosine, chacun des trois paramètres a été reconstitué aux niveaux normaux ou presque normaux dans ceux qui étaient déprimés.

Le nombre de cellules de T d'aide et la stimulation de phytohemagglutinin se corrèlent dans les cancéreux

Richner J, PE d'Ambinder, Hoffmann K, Feuer EJ, Bekesi G. Cancer Immunol Immunother 1991 ; 34(2) : 138-42.

Les cellules mononucléaires de 12 contrôles normaux (Co), 10 ont avancé non traité (c1), et 6 cancéreux soignés avancés (C2) ont été isolés. Les nombres de cellules mononucléaires soutenant Leu1, Leu2, Leu3, Leu2/HLA-DR et LeuM3 ont été mesurés avec une trieuse fluorescence-activée de cellules. Seulement la quantité de cellules de T d'aide (Leu3) a été diminuée dans les cancéreux (Co : 0,89, Cl : 0,32, C2 : 0,44 x 10(9) /l). L'addition de l'analyse de phytohemagglutinin-culture d'indométhacine ou d'isoprinosine a augmenté la prolifération des lymphocytes des cancéreux et des contrôles normaux.

Thérapie des immunodéficits à cellule T secondaires avec des biologicalsubstances et des drogues

Hadden JW, fin de support de Hadden. Med Oncol Tumor Pharmacother 1989 ; 6(1) : 11-7.

(t) les défauts Thymus-dépendants de lymphocyte sont communs dans le cancer. Interleukins (IL), en particulier IL-1 et IL-2, semblent être complémentaires aux actions des hormones thymiques en favorisant le développement à cellule T. Deux classes des drogues thymomimetic ont été identifiées et sont représentées par le levamisole et l'Isoprinosine. Imitateur de ces drogues par des actions indirectes et directes, respectivement, les actions des hormones thymiques. Ces agents peuvent être maintenant plus effectivement intégrés avec la thérapie cytodestructive dans le traitement contre le cancer.

Adjuvants à cellule T

Hadden JW. International J Immunopharmacol 1994 sept ; 16(9) : 703-10

L'auteur conclut que les peptides « thymomimetic » comme l'alpha 1 de thymosin ou dope comme le levamisole ou Isoprinosine seul ou en même temps que des interleukins peut augmenter des réponses de TH-1 et de DTH. Ces approches voient l'accent croissant dans de nouvelles stratégies de traitement pour le cancer et infections comme HIV.

Résultats du traitement du papillome et du carcinome bronchogenic avec l'alpha d'interféron

Szklarz E et autres Pol Tyg Lek 6-13 août 1990 ; 45 (32-33) : 669-72 (article dans le polonais).

Les résultats du traitement de deux patients avec la tumeur bronchique et de papillomatosis avec l'alpha d'interféron combiné avec le cytostatics et l'Isoprinosine ont été comparés. L'alpha d'interféron a été administré aux bronches et directement dans les tumeurs. Le rétablissement complet a été réalisé en cas de papillomatosis bronchique et de remise partielle en cas de cancer. Il semble que que thérapie combinée d'interféron, cytostatique et d'Isoprinosine peut prolonger la survie des malades.

Potentialisation des effets cytotoxiques du fluorouracil 5 par l'inosiplex sur des cellules cancéreuses

Miyoshi T, Ogawa S, Nobuhara M, Namba M. Gan To Kagaku Ryoho 1984 mars ; 11(3) : 440-4

Des effets de l'inosiplex sur la potentialisation de la cytotoxicité de 5-FU ont été étudiés in vitro et in vivo. Les études in vitro ont démontré que des effets cytotoxiques de 5-FU sur l'efficacité de clonage des cellules hela ont été en évidence augmentés par l'inosiplex, alors que seul l'inosiplex ne montrait aucune cytotoxicité aux concentrations examinées. De plus, la période de survie des souris en intrapéritonéale inoculées avec des cellules de tumeur d'ascite d'Ehrlich a été étudiée. La période de survie moyenne des souris a traité avec la combinaison de 5-FU et d'inosiplex sensiblement prolongés par rapport à celui des animaux témoins ou des souris traités avec l'inosiplex seul ou de 5-FU seul. Les résultats actuels indiquent qu'une administration combinée de 5-FU et d'inosiplex peut être efficace dans le traitement des cancers humains.

Leukoplakia verrucous prolifératif oral (PVL) ; le procès ouvert de la chirurgie a rivalisé avec la thérapie combinée utilisant la chirurgie et le methisoprinol dans à PVL papillomavirus lié

Femiano F, gombos F, Scully C. Int J Maxillofac oral Surg 2001 août ; 30(4) : 318-22

Dans un procès ouvert de 25 patients avec PVL HPV-positif oral, une thérapie combinée utilisant la chirurgie et le methisoprinol (Isoprinosine) ont été comparés à la chirurgie seule. De façon générale, par 18 mois de suivi, il y avait 18 répétitions dans le groupe traité par seule chirurgie, comparé à quatre dans ceux recevant également le methisoprinol. L'utilisation de cet agent antiviral a semblé offrir une amélioration significative à la gestion chirurgicale de PVL.

Thérapie combinée avec Isoprinosine et microchirurgie de laser de CO2 pour le traitement du papillomatosis laryngé

Elo J, Mate Z. Arch Otorhinolaryngol 1988 ; 244(6) : 342-5.

La chirurgie de laser est la méthode de choix actuelle pour traiter le papillomatosis laryngé, mais elle n'a pas résolu complètement les problèmes des répétitions. Pour rendre le traitement plus efficace, un régime thérapeutique qui combine la microchirurgie de laser avec le methisoprinol immunostimulant (Isoprinosine) a été développé. Les observations dans 18 patients ont prouvé que cette gestion combinée était plus réussie qu'utilisant une modalité simple avec seul le laser ou Isoprinosine. L'approche combinée était également efficace dans des cas récurrents, avec la synchronisation de la combinaison influençant les résultats du traitement donné.

Efficacité de thérapie orale de pranobex d'inosine dans l'infection humaine subclinique de papillomavirus du vulva : une étude commandée par placebo double-aveuglée randomisée

Tay SK. International J DST FACILITE 1996 juillet ; 7(4) : 276-80

Une étude commandée par placebo à double anonymat randomisée avec 46 patients a été effectuée pour évaluer l'efficacité d'Isoprinosine (1 g oralement 3 fois par jour pendant 6 semaines) dans le traitement de l'infection humaine subclinique symptomatique de papillomavirus du vulva. Un total de 14 (63,5%) de l'Isoprinosine ont soigné des patients et 4 (16,7%) des patients soignés par placebo ont montré l'amélioration morphologique épithéliale vulval significative (P = 0,005) à 2 mois après l'initiation du traitement. On le conclut qu'Isoprinosine a démontré une activité pharmacologique significative dans l'infection subclinique de HPV du vulva et devrait être considéré un traitement alternatif pour la condition.

Effets immunologiques d'isoprinosine comme immunothérapie d'impulsion dans le mélanome et les patients d'ARC

Pompidou A, Soubrane C, Cour V, Telvi L, meunier C, supplément 1987 de Jacquillat C. Cancer Detect Prev ; 1:457-62.

Des effets immunomodulateurs d'Isoprinosine sont présentés dans le mélanome et les patients infectés par HTLV-III/LAV. Isoprinosine (50 mg/kg) a été employé comme immunothérapie d'impulsion selon deux programmes différents : A) 5 jours tous les 15 jours et B) 5 jours tous les 15 jours pendant 2 mois, puis 5 jours tous les 2 mois. Des patients primaires de mélanome malin sont randomisés entre la chirurgie seule ou associée à isotherapy (programmez A ou B). Programmez A, après une première amélioration de déficit immunitaire causé par la chirurgie, êtes responsable d'un immunodepression, tandis que le programme B détermine une restauration prolongée dans des immuno-réactions dans le mélanome et AIDE les patients relatifs de complexe ou de sarcome de Kaposi aussi bien. Des effets in vitro d'Isoprinosine sur l'infection de HTLV-III/LAV sont présentés. Ces données montrent 1) le besoin d'un suivi immunologique pendant l'isotherapy et 2) l'avantage immunologique d'une immunothérapie d'impulsion pendant des immunodéficits acquis liés à la chirurgie de cancer ou à l'infection de HTLV-III/LAV chez l'homme.

Imunovir dans le traitement de l'immunodepression de l'étiologie diverse

BB d'O'Neill, Glasky AJ. Le Cancer détectent le supplément 1987 de Prev ; 1:329-31

Immunodepression s'est associé à un grand choix de situations telles que le cancer ou n'importe laquelle de ses modalités importantes de traitement (chirurgie, irradiation, ou chimiothérapie) a été effectivement allégé avec Imunovir (pranobex-INTERDICTION d'inosine), et ceci a été associée à l'avantage clinique démontrable à ces patients. Cent six patients immunodepressed avec les tumeurs solides subissant la radiothérapie ont été soignés avec Imunovir ou placebo ; 64% de patients Imunovir-traités immunorestored après 3 mois comparés à 23% dans le groupe de placebo.

Imunovir a été également effectivement employé dans 75 patients présentant des désordres hématologiques malins comme agent immunorestorative donné prophylactique pour empêcher l'infection et comme agent thérapeutique pour traiter des infections dans ces patients immunodepressed. Dans différentes études faisant participer les patients chirurgicaux soignés avec Imunovir ou placebo, 70-81% de patients hypoergic ou anergiques dans le groupe d'Imunovir est devenu normoergic par le jour 14 du traitement comparé à 5-17% du groupe de placebo, et cet immunorestoration augmenté a été associé à une incidence plus limitée de la septicité locale (P moins de 0,05), de la septicité systémique (P moins de 0,025), et de la mortalité postopératoire (P moins de 0,05).

L'amélioration clinique du syndrome chronique de fatigue est associée à la cytotoxicité communiquée par les cellules augmentée de tueur naturel : Les résultats d'un ® de Study With Isoprinosine de pilote

1A. Kumar, 2E. Turgonyi, 3B. Hyde, 1C. Galvis, 1W. Lim et 1F. Diaz-Mitoma

Départements1 de la pédiatrie, Division de la virologie, l'hôpital d'enfants d'Ontario oriental, université d'Ottawa, Ottawa ; 2Newport Pharmaceuticals Ltd., Irlande ; et basede recherches de 3 rossignols, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Le syndrome chronique de fatigue (CFS) est associé à plusieurs anomalies immunisées, telles que la cytotoxicité communiquée par les cellules naturelle diminuée du tueur (NK) et la production dysregulated des cytokines. L'impact clinique d'Isoprinosineâ (immunomodulator/antiviral) sur de diverses fonctions immunisées dans un total de 16 patients de CFS diagnostiqués selon la définition de la CDC CFS a été évalué. Des patients ont été suivis pendant 28 semaines. On a observé l'amélioration clinique basée sur l'échafaudage clinique dans 6 sur 10 patients (60%). Les patients de CFS à la ligne de base comparée aux contrôles normaux ont exhibé une activité sensiblement diminuée de NK aussi bien qu'ont diminué la production causée par le mitogène d'IL-10, d'IL-12 et d'IFN-g dans PBMC. Médicalement amélioré patient a montré de manière significative augmenté NK activité [LU) (de 5 et de 15%/106] ce qui s'est corrélé avec la durée du traitement (p< 0,03). On a observé une augmentation significative dans la production IL-12 par PBMC stimulé par mitogène à cellule T dans les patients médicalement améliorés soignés pendant 28 semaines comparées aux patients sur le placebo (p < 0,02). Le traitement avec Isoprinosineâ pendant 12 semaines n'a pas sensiblement influencé la production d'IL-1a et d'IL-10. Cependant, la discontinuation du traitement a eu comme conséquence la production augmentée d'IL-1a et d'IL-10 seulement dans les patients médicalement améliorés. Quand le traitement a été repris à la semaine 16, on a observé la production sensiblement diminuée de ces deux cytokines. Le traitement avec Isoprinosineâ pendant des périodes prolongées (28 semaines) a également eu comme conséquence le nombre augmenté de cellules d'assistant de CD4+ T et CD4+, nombre à cellule T de HLA-DR+ dans le sang périphérique seulement dans les patients médicalement améliorés. Ces résultats suggèrent l'efficacité clinique d'Isoprinosineâ et son potentiel d'augmenter l'activité de cellules de NK. En raison de le petit nombre de patients, d'autres études sont requises étudier la contribution des effets immunisés Isoprinosineâ-négociés à la pathogénie du CFS.


Le papier a été présenté à l'association américaine des immunologistes et de la réunion annuelle d'immunologie de joint clinique de société, la « immunologie 2000 » des 12-16 mai 2000 Washington State Convention et le centre commercial, Seattle, Washington.

Weight Loss Sale

ISOPRINOSINE



image

Enhancement of immune function in cancer patients
image An in vitro study on the effects of isoprinosine on immune responses in cancer patients
image Number of helper T cells and phytohemagglutinin stimulation correlate in cancer patients
image Therapy of secondary T-cell immunodeficiencies with biologicalsubstances and drugs
image T-cell adjuvants
Immunorestoration in chemotherapy
image Results of the treatment of papilloma and bronchogenic carcinoma with interferon alpha
image Potentiation of cytotoxic effects of 5-fluorouracil by inosiplex on cancer cells
Immunorestoration after surgery or radiation
image Oral proliferative verrucous leukoplakia (PVL); open trial of surgery compared with combined therapy using surgery and methisoprinol in papillomavirus-related PVL
image Combined therapy with Isoprinosine and CO2 laser microsurgery for the treatment of laryngeal papillomatosis
image Efficacy of inosine pranobex oral therapy in subclinical human papillomavirus infection of the vulva: a randomised double-blinded placebo controlled study
image Immunological effects of isoprinosine as a pulse immunotherapy in melanoma and ARC patients
image Imunovir in the treatment of immunodepression of diverse etiology

Clinical Improvement In Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Is Associated With Enhanced Natural Killer Cell Mediated Cytotoxicity: The Results Of A Pilot Study With Isoprinosine®

bar




An in vitro study on the effects of isoprinosine on immune responses in cancer patients

Tsang KY, Fudenberg HH, Pan JF, Gnagy MJ, Bristow CB. Int J Immunopharmacol 1983;5(6):481-90.

The in vitro effects of Isoprinosine on the immune responses of cancer patients were investigated. Forty seven patients with primary tumors (26 lung carcinoma, 14 breast adenocarcinoma, 7 melanoma) were studied. Concanavalin A (ConA)-induced lymphocyte proliferation, natural killer cell (NK) activity, and monocyte chemotaxis were measured. In 40 of the 47 patients (85%), ConA-induced lymphocyte proliferation was depressed; NK activity was depressed in 32 (68%), and monocyte chemotaxis was found to be depressed in 36 (77%). In the presence of Isoprinosine, all three parameters were restored to normal or near normal levels in those that were depressed.

Number of helper T cells and phytohemagglutinin stimulation correlate in cancer patients

Richner J, Ambinder EP, Hoffmann K, Feuer EJ, Bekesi G. Cancer Immunol Immunother 1991;34(2):138-42.

Mononuclear cells from 12 normal controls (co), 10 advanced untreated (c1), and 6 advanced treated cancer patients (c2) have been isolated. The numbers of mononuclear cells bearing Leu1, Leu2, Leu3, Leu2/HLA-DR and LeuM3 were measured with a fluorescence-activated cell sorter. Only the quantity of helper T cells (Leu3) was decreased in cancer patients (co: 0.89, cl: 0.32, c2: 0.44 x 10(9)/l). The addition of indomethacin or isoprinosine to phytohemagglutinin-culture assay increased the proliferation of lymphocytes from both the cancer patients and normal controls.

Therapy of secondary T-cell immunodeficiencies with biologicalsubstances and drugs

Hadden JW, Hadden EM. Med Oncol Tumor Pharmacother 1989;6(1):11-7.

Thymus-dependent (T) lymphocyte defects are common in cancer. Interleukins (IL), particularly IL-1 and IL-2, appear to be complementary to the actions of thymic hormones in promoting T-cell development. Two classes of thymomimetic drugs have been identified and are represented by levamisole and Isoprinosine. These drugs mimic by indirect and direct actions, respectively, the actions of thymic hormones. These agents may now be more effectively integrated with cytodestructive therapy in cancer treatment.

T-cell adjuvants

Hadden JW. Int J Immunopharmacol 1994 Sep;16(9):703-10

The author concludes that "thymomimetic" peptides like thymosin alpha 1 or drugs like levamisole or Isoprinosine alone or in conjunction with interleukins may augment TH-1 and DTH responses. These approaches are seeing increasing emphasis in new treatment strategies for cancer and infections like HIV.

Results of the treatment of papilloma and bronchogenic carcinoma with interferon alpha

Szklarz E et al. Pol Tyg Lek 1990 Aug 6-13;45(32-33):669-72 (Article in Polish).

The results of treatment of two patients with bronchial tumor and papillomatosis with interferon alpha combined with cytostatics and Isoprinosine were compared. Interferon alpha was administered to the bronchi and directly into the tumors. Complete recovery was achieved in case of the bronchial papillomatosis and partial remission in case of cancer. It seems that combined interferon, cytostatic and Isoprinosine therapy may prolong patients' survival.

Potentiation of cytotoxic effects of 5-fluorouracil by inosiplex on cancer cells

Miyoshi T, Ogawa S, Nobuhara M, Namba M. Gan To Kagaku Ryoho 1984 Mar;11(3):440-4

Effects of inosiplex on the potentiation of cytotoxicity of 5-FU were investigated in vitro and in vivo. In vitro studies demonstrated that cytotoxic effects of 5-FU on cloning efficiency of HeLa cells were prominently enhanced by inosiplex, while inosiplex alone showed no cytotoxicity at the concentrations examined. Further, the survival time of mice intraperitoneally inoculated with Ehrlich ascites tumor cells was investigated. The mean survival time of mice treated with the combination of 5-FU and inosiplex significantly prolonged as compared with that of control animals or mice treated with inosiplex alone or 5-FU alone. The present results indicate that a combined administration of 5-FU and inosiplex may be effective in the treatment of human cancers.

Oral proliferative verrucous leukoplakia (PVL); open trial of surgery compared with combined therapy using surgery and methisoprinol in papillomavirus-related PVL

Femiano F, Gombos F, Scully C. Int J Oral Maxillofac Surg 2001 Aug;30(4):318-22

In an open trial of 25 patients with oral HPV-positive PVL, a combined therapy using surgery and methisoprinol (Isoprinosine) was compared with surgery alone. Overall, by 18 months follow-up, there were 18 recurrences in the group treated by surgery alone, compared with four in those also receiving methisoprinol. The use of this antiviral agent appeared to offer a significant enhancement to the surgical management of PVL.

Combined therapy with Isoprinosine and CO2 laser microsurgery for the treatment of laryngeal papillomatosis

Elo J, Mate Z. Arch Otorhinolaryngol 1988;244(6):342-5.

Laser surgery is the current method of choice for treating laryngeal papillomatosis, but it has not solved completely the problems of recurrences. To make treatment more effective, a therapeutic regimen that combines laser microsurgery with the immunostimulant methisoprinol (Isoprinosine) was developed. Observations in 18 patients have shown that this combined management was more successful than using a single modality with either the laser or Isoprinosine alone. The combined approach was also effective in recurrent cases, with the timing of the combination influencing the results of the treatment given.

Efficacy of inosine pranobex oral therapy in subclinical human papillomavirus infection of the vulva: a randomised double-blinded placebo controlled study

Tay SK. Int J STD AIDS 1996 Jul;7(4):276-80

A randomized double-blind placebo controlled study with 46 patients was carried out to assess the efficacy of Isoprinosine (1 g orally 3 times a day for 6 weeks) in the treatment of symptomatic subclinical human papillomavirus infection of the vulva. A total of 14 (63.5%) of the Isoprinosine treated patients and 4 (16.7%) of the placebo treated patients showed significant vulval epithelial morphological improvement (P = 0.005) at 2 months after initiation of treatment. It is concluded that Isoprinosine demonstrated a significant pharmacological activity in subclinical HPV infection of the vulva and should be considered an alternative treatment for the condition.

Immunological effects of isoprinosine as a pulse immunotherapy in melanoma and ARC patients

Pompidou A, Soubrane C, Cour V, Telvi L, Meunier C, Jacquillat C. Cancer Detect Prev Suppl 1987;1:457-62.

Immunomodulatory effects of Isoprinosine are presented in melanoma and HTLV-III/LAV infected patients. Isoprinosine (50 mg/kg) was used as a pulse immunotherapy according to two different schedules: A) 5 days every 15 days and B) 5 days every 15 days for 2 months, then 5 days every 2 months. Primary malignant melanoma patients are randomized between surgery alone or associated to isotherapy (schedule A or B). Schedule A, after an initial improvement of surgery-induced immune deficiency, is responsible for an immunodepression, whereas schedule B determines a prolonged restoration in immune responses in melanoma and AIDS related complex or Kaposi sarcoma patients as well. In vitro effects of Isoprinosine on HTLV-III/LAV infection are presented. These data exhibit 1) the need of an immunological follow-up during isotherapy and 2) the immunological benefit of a pulse immunotherapy during acquired immunodeficiencies related to cancer surgery or to HTLV-III/LAV infection in man.

Imunovir in the treatment of immunodepression of diverse etiology

O'Neill BB, Glasky AJ. Cancer Detect Prev Suppl 1987;1:329-31

Immunodepression associated with a variety of situations such as cancer or any of its major modalities of treatment (surgery, irradiation, or chemotherapy) has been effectively alleviated with Imunovir (inosine pranobex-BAN), and this has been associated with demonstrable clinical benefit to these patients. One hundred and six immunodepressed patients with solid tumors undergoing radiotherapy were treated with either Imunovir or placebo; 64% of Imunovir-treated patients were immunorestored after 3 months compared to 23% in the placebo group.

Imunovir was also effectively used in 75 patients with malignant hematological disorders both as an immunorestorative agent given prophylactically to prevent infection and as a therapeutic agent to treat infections in these immunodepressed patients. In different studies involving surgical patients treated with either Imunovir or placebo, 70-81% of hypoergic or anergic patients in the Imunovir group became normoergic by day 14 of treatment compared to 5-17% of the placebo group, and this enhanced immunorestoration was associated with lower incidence of local sepsis (P less than 0.05), systemic sepsis (P less than 0.025), and postoperative mortality (P less than 0.05).

Clinical Improvement In Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Is Associated With Enhanced Natural Killer Cell Mediated Cytotoxicity: The Results Of A Pilot Study With Isoprinosine®

1A. Kumar, 2E. Turgonyi, 3B. Hyde, 1C. Galvis, 1W. Lim and 1F. Diaz-Mitoma

1Departments of Pediatrics, Division of Virology, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, University of Ottawa, Ottawa; 2Newport Pharmaceuticals Ltd., Ireland; and 3Nightingale Research Foundation, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) is associated with several immune abnormalities, such as decreased natural killer (NK) cell mediated cytotoxicity and dysregulated production of cytokines. The clinical impact of Isoprinosineâ (immunomodulator / antiviral) on various immune functions in a total of 16 CFS patients diagnosed according to the CDC CFS definition was evaluated. Patients were followed for 28 weeks. Clinical improvement based on the clinical staging was observed in 6 out of 10 patients (60%). CFS patients at baseline compared to normal controls exhibited a significantly decreased NK activity as well as decreased mitogen-induced production of IL-10, IL-12 and IFN-g in PBMC. The clinically improved patients showed a significantly enhanced NK activity [LU (5 and 15%)/106] which correlated with the duration of the treatment (p< 0.03). A significant increase in IL-12 production by T cell mitogen stimulated PBMC was observed in clinically improved patients treated for 28 weeks compared to the patients on placebo (p < 0.02). Treatment with Isoprinosineâ for 12 weeks did not appreciably influence the production of IL-1a and IL-10. However, discontinuation of treatment resulted in enhanced production of both IL-1a and IL-10 only in clinically improved patients. When treatment was started again at week 16, significantly decreased production of these two cytokines was observed. Treatment with Isoprinosineâ for prolonged periods (28 weeks) also resulted in the enhanced number of CD4+ T helper cells and CD4+, HLA-DR+ T cell number in peripheral blood only in clinically improved patients. These results suggest the clinical efficacy of Isoprinosineâ and its potential to enhance NK cell activity. In view of the small number of patients, further studies are required to investigate the contribution of Isoprinosineâ-mediated immune effects to the pathogenesis of CFS.


The paper was presented at The American Association of Immunologists and the Clinical Immunology Society Joint Annual Meeting, "Immunology 2000" May 12-16, 2000 Washington State Convention and Trade Center, Seattle, Washington.