Verlängerung der Lebensdauers-Hautpflege-Verkauf

Zusammenfassungen









SYNDROM SJOGRENS
(Seite 3)


Druck? Verwenden Sie dieses!
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Stange

Bild 61. Der Effekt der Zink- und Vitamin- Aergänzung auf Immunreaktion in einer älteren Bevölkerung.
Bild 62. Diätetische mehrfach ungesättigte Fettsäuren und entzündliche Vermittlerproduktion.
Bild 63. Xerostomia. Ein vernachlässigtes Symptom.
Bild 64. Sjogrens Syndrom. Mehr als trockene Augen und trockener Mund.
Bild 65. Überblick über Sjogrens Syndrom.
Bild 66. Körperliche Verfassung: Nutzen der Übung für den älteren Patienten.
Bild 67. Aufwertung von Labor-Parametern in Bezug auf histologische Ergebnisse in Primär- und Sekundär-Sjogrens Syndrom.
Bild 68. Vererbung und Immunologie in Sjogrens Syndrom.
Bild 69. Angst und Krise bei Patienten mit Primär-Sjogrens Syndrom.
Bild 70. Einzel-geblendeter kontrollierter Versuch des Niedrigdosismundifn-alphas für die Behandlung von xerostomia bei Patienten mit Sjogrens Syndrom.
Bild 71. Cyclosporin in den Autoimmunerkrankungen.
Bild 72. Die Lipidunausgeglichenheit, welche die wesentlichen Fettsäuren mit einbezieht, wurde als möglicher Faktor in SS vorgeschlagen.
Bild 73. Sjogrens Syndrom. Zahnmedizinische Rolle, wenn Entlastung zur Verfügung gestellt wird.
Bild 74. Effekt von Bakumondo? auf zur Speichel- Absonderung bei Patienten mit Sjogrens Syndrom.


Stange



61. Der Effekt der Zink- und Vitamin- Aergänzung auf Immunreaktion in einer älteren Bevölkerung.

Stärken C, Forastiere F, Agabiti N, Fano V, Pacifici R, Virgili F, Piras G, Guidi
L, Bartoloni C, Tricerri A, Zuccaro P, Ebrahim S, Perucci CA
Nationales Institut der Gesundheit, Rom, Italien.
J morgens Geriatr Soc Jan. 1998; 46(1): 19-26

ZIEL: Zu bestimmen wenn entweder zusätzliches Vitamin A, Zink oder zellvermittelte Immunreaktion beider Zunahmen in einer älteren Bevölkerung. ENTWURF: Ein doppelblinder, randomisierter, Kontrollversuch der Ergänzung mit Vitamin A und ein Zink. EINSTELLUNG: Casa Di Riposo Rom III, ein allgemeines Haus für ältere Leute in Rom, Italien. THEMEN: Die Gesundheit und der Ernährungsstatus von 178 Bewohnern wurden ausgewertet. Hundert sechsunddreißig Bewohner, die vereinbart wurden, um am Versuch teilzunehmen und wurden in vier Behandlungsgruppen randomisiert, und 118 dieser Bewohner schlossen den Versuch ab. INTERVENTION: Die vier Behandlungen bestanden: (1) Vitamin A (800 Mikrogramme Harzölpalmitat); (2) Zink (mg 25 als Zinksulfat); (3) Vitamin A und Zink (800 Mikrogramme Harzölpalmitat und mg 25 als Zinksulfat); (4) Placebokapseln, die Stärke enthalten. MAIN ERGEBNIS-MASSE: Immune Testzählungen von Leukozyten, von Lymphozyten, von T-zelligen Teilmengen und von wuchernder Antwort der Lymphozyte zu Mitogen-wurden vor und nach Ergänzung gemessen. ERGEBNISSE: Zink erhöhte die Zahl von CD4 + Dr + T-Zellen (P = .016) und cytotoxische T-Lymphozyten (P = .005). Themen behandelten mit Vitamin A erfuhren eine Reduzierung in der Zahl von CD3 + T-Zellen (P = .012) und CD4 + T-Zellen (P = .012). SCHLUSSFOLGERUNGEN: Diese Daten zeigen an, dass Zinkergänzung zellvermittelte Immunreaktion verbesserte, während Vitamin A eine schädliche Wirkung in dieser älteren Bevölkerung hatte. Weitere Forschung ist erforderlich, die klinische Bedeutung dieser Ergebnisse zu erklären.



62. Diätetische mehrfach ungesättigte Fettsäuren und entzündliche Vermittlerproduktion.

James MJ, Gibson RA, Cleland Fahrwerk
Rheumatologie-Einheit, königliche Adelaide Hospital, Adelaide, Australien und
Abteilung von Kinderheilkunde und von Kindergesundheit, Flinders-Gesundheitszentrum, Bedford
Park, Australien.
Morgens J Clin Nutr Jan. 2000; 71 (1 Ergänzung): 343S-8S

Viele entzündungshemmenden Arzneimittel hemmen die Produktion von bestimmten eicosanoids und cytokines und es sind hier, dass Möglichkeiten für Therapien existieren, die diätetische Fettsäuren n-3 und n-9 enthalten. Das proinflammatory eicosanoids Prostaglandin E (2) (PGE (2)) und leukotriene B (4) (LTB (4)) werden von der Arachidonsäure der Fettsäure n-6 (AA) abgeleitet, das bei hohen zellulären Konzentrationen durch das hohe n-6 und niedrigen mehrfach ungesättigten den Gehalt der Fettsäure n-3 der modernen Westdiät instand gehalten wird. Leinöl enthält die 18 Fettsäurealpha-linolensäure des Kohlenstoffs n-3, die nach Einnahme in die 20 Fettsäureeicosapentaensäure des Kohlenstoffs n-3 (EPA) umgewandelt werden kann. Fischöle enthalten 20 - und 22 Fettsäuren des Kohlenstoffs n-3, EPA und Docosahexaensäure. EPA kann als ein wettbewerbsfähiges Hemmnis von AA-Umwandlung zu PGE auftreten (2) und LTB (4) und verringerte Synthese von einen oder beiden eicosanoids ist nach Einbeziehung des Leinöl- oder Fischöls in der Diät beobachtet worden. Analog dem Effekt von Fettsäuren n-3, Einbeziehung der 20 eikosatrienoischen Säure der Fettsäure des Kohlenstoffs n-9 in der Diät ergibt auch verringerte Synthese von LTB (4). Betreffend die proinflammatory ctyokines haben Tumor-Nekrose-Faktor-Alpha und Interleukin 1beta, Studien von gesunden Freiwilligen und Patienten der rheumatoiden Arthritis < oder = 90% Hemmung der Cytokineproduktion nach diätetischer Ergänzung mit Fischöl dargestellt. Gebrauch des Leinöls in der inländischen Lebensmittelzubereitung verringerte auch Produktion dieser cytokines. Neue entzündungshemmende Therapien können entwickelt werden, die positive Interaktionen zwischen den Nahrungsfetten und den vorhandenen oder neuentwickelten Arzneimitteln nutzen.



63. Xerostomia. Ein vernachlässigtes Symptom.

Sreebny LM, Valdini A
Bogen-Interniert-MED Jul 1987; 147(7): 1333-7

Xerostomia, das subjektive Gefühl des trockenen Munds verursacht durch eine schwere Reduzierung im Fluss des Speichels, ist ein allgemeines Problem, das unter gealtert besonders überwiegend ist. Es ist in zunehmendem Maße offensichtlich geworden, dass trockener Mund mit einigen ernsten Körperbedingungen und Krankheiten verbunden ist. Unter diesen ist die Aufnahme von allgemein vorgeschriebenen Medikationen, die Autoimmunerkrankungen und die Bestrahlung zum Kopf und zum Hals. Die Verminderung im Fluss des Speichels beeinflußt möglicherweise profund Mundgesundheit, stören Verdauung und Rede und hindern ernsthaft die Lebensqualität des Patienten. Nahrungsmittelvermeidung, nonabsorption von sublingually gesetzten Drogen und Zuwiderhandlung gegen Medikation resultieren möglicherweise auch. Sialometry kann verwendet werden, um das Vorhandensein des trockenen Munds zu bestätigen. Die Behandlung wird den Fluss des Speichels erhöhend angestrebt, wenn möglich, oder Mundfeuchtigkeit von anderen Mitteln bereitstellend.



64. Sjogrens Syndrom. Mehr als trockene Augen und trockener Mund.

Smith DL, Lucas LM
Postgrad MED Jul 1987; 82(1): 123-31

Sjogrens Syndrom ist ein komplexer Krankheitszustand mit Multisystemäusserungen. Zwei Formen der Krankheit, hauptsächlich und zweitens, werden erkannt; die Sekundärform wird leicht wegen seiner Vereinigung mit einem bereits hergestellten rheumatischen oder einer Autoimmunerkrankung bestimmt. Behandlung besteht aus Maßen, Schaden an der augenfälligen und Mundtrockenheit (sicca Komplex) zu verhindern und Körperäusserungen herabzusetzen.



65. Überblick über Sjogrens Syndrom.

Talal N
J-Einbuchtung Res Feb 1987; Keine Spezifikt. 66: 672-4

Sjogrens Syndrom, eine chronische entzündliche und autoimmune Störung (Shoenfeld und Schwartz, 1984; Smith und Steinberg, 1983), wird durch verminderte tränenreiche und Speicheldrüseabsonderung (sicca Komplex), mit dem Ergebnis Keratoconjunctivitis sicca (KCS) und des xerostomia gekennzeichnet. Wie ursprünglich beschrieben, bestand das Syndrom aus einer Dreiergruppe von trockenen Augen, von trockenem Mund und von rheumatoider Arthritis. Wir wissen jetzt, dass andere Bindegewebekrankheiten (z.B., Körperlupus erythematosus, progressive Körpersklerose und Polymyositis) möglicherweise anstelle der rheumatoiden Arthritis anwesend sind und dass der sicca Komplex als pathologisches hauptsächlichwesen ohne verbundene Störung existieren kann (Strand und Talal, 1980; Talal, 1985). Außerdem erscheinen möglicherweise generalisiertes lymphoproliferation, pseudolymphoma oder sogar lymphoide Feindseligkeit bei einigen Patienten (Talal und Bunim, 1964; Talal et al., 1967). Mehr als 90% von Patienten sind Frauen, mit einem Durchschnittsalter von 50 Jahren an der Diagnose. Die Krankheit tritt in allen Rennen und in allem Alter auf.



66. Körperliche Verfassung: Nutzen der Übung für den älteren Patienten. 2.

Butler RN, Davis R, Lewis-COLUMBIUM, Nelson ICH, Strauss E
Abteilung von Geriatrie und von Erwachsen-Entwicklung, Berg Sinai-Gesundheitszentrum, neu
York, USA.
Geriatrie Okt 1998; 53(10): 46, 49-52, 61-2

Übung stellt wichtigen Nutzen für ältere Erwachsene in den Bereichen der kardiovaskulären Funktion, der Stärke- und Muskelmasse, der Haltungsstabilität und der psychologischen Funktion zur Verfügung. Dieser Nutzen kann durch die, die gesund sind, sowie durch das schwache und das sehr alt erzielt werden. Ärzte können einen einfachen Eignungstest benutzen, um Risikopatienten für Verlust von Mobilität zu identifizieren und zu arbeiten wegen der Muskelschwäche. Übungshilfen verhindern Hüftenbrüche an den Fällen, indem sie Knochendichte, -koordination, -balance und -Muskelkraft erhöhen. Es ist auch eine wichtige Behandlung für Patienten mit Arthritis, Parkinson-Krankheit, Anschlag und anderen chronischen Alterskrankheiten. Patienten, die Showverbesserungen in den deprimierenden Symptomen und in den Schlafstörungen ausüben.



67. Aufwertung von Labor-Parametern in Bezug auf histologische Ergebnisse in Primär- und Sekundär-Sjogrens Syndrom.

Ohara T, Itoh Y, Itoh K
Abteilung der klinischen Pathologie, Jichi-Medizinische Fakultät, Tochigi.
Interniert-MED Jun 2000; 39(6): 457-63

ZIEL: Wir bewerteten den Aussagewert von Laborparametern in Bezug auf histopathologische Ergebnisse in Sjogrens Syndrom (SS) neu um zu erklären ob Autoantibodies nützliche Diagnosekriterien für SS sind und ob irgendwelche Labordaten nützlich sind-, wenn man den Grad der Speicheldrüseänderung schätzt. PATIENTEN UND METHODEN: Laborparameter und histopathologische Ergebnisse wurden bei 96 Patienten analysiert, die durch Lippenbiopsie überprüft wurden. ERGEBNISSE: Der Prozentsatz von Fällen mit positiven Proben des Rheumafaktors und der anti-SS-A/Ro Antikörper war in bestimmten SS erheblich höher. Patienten mit dichter einkerniger Zellinfiltration von Speichel- Geweben hatten auch höhere Titer des Rheumafaktors. Keine nützlichen Laborparameter wurden für die Diagnose von Sekundär-SS gefunden. SCHLUSSFOLGERUNG: Rheumafaktor und anti-SS-A/Ro Antikörper sind für die Diagnose von Primär-SS nützlich, und Rheumafaktor ist auch ein Indikator der Schwere des Speichel- glandulären Schadens.



68. [Vererbung und Immunologie in Sjogrens Syndrom].

[Artikel auf Norwegisch]
Jonsson R, Nakken B, Halse AK, Skarstein K, Brokstad K, Haga HJ
Hus Haukeland Sykehus Broegelmanns Forskningslaboratorium Armauer Hansens,
Bergen.
Tidsskr noch Laegeforen 2000 am 10. März; 120(7): 811-4

HINTERGRUND: In den folgenden 3-5 Jahren ermöglicht der schnelle Fortschritt in der genomischen Forschung der Entdeckung vieler Gene, die mit den allgemeineren Krankheiten verbunden sind. Ein Beispiel solch einer allgemeiner Krankheit ist das rheumatischen des Störung Sjogrens Syndrom, eine Autoimmunerkrankung. Eine genauere genetische Erklärung des Mechanismus, der zu Sjogrens Syndrom führt, bleibt gegeben zu werden. MATERIAL UND METHODEN: Eine Möglichkeit der Untersuchung der Krankheit bezogenen Gene in solchen komplexen polygenic Krankheiten ist, Verknüpfungsstudien in den Familien mit zwei oder durchzuführen beeinflußt. Eine andere Möglichkeit ist, Vereinigungsuntersuchungen über Trios (Eltern und betroffenes Kind), Fallstudien oder andere experimentelle Designe zu leiten. In den Vereinigungsstudien prüft man, wenn ein Allel unter den Patienten erheblich erhöht ist, die mit Kontrollen verglichen werden, während in den Verknüpfungsanalysen man subchromosomal Regionen findet, die häufig von den Patienten als durch gesunde Familienmitglieder geerbt werden. ERGEBNISSE: Die gut definierteste genetische Vereinigung in Sjogrens Syndrom hängt z.Z. mit verschiedenen HLA-Allelen und ihrer Vereinigung mit anti-Ro/SSA und anti-La/SSB Autoantibodies zusammen. Die zusätzlichen genetischen Studien, die auf nicht--HLA Regionen sich konzentrieren, sind laufend. INTERPRETATION: Erhöhtes genetisches Wissen würde Optimierung der Diagnosekriterien sowie der Entwicklung der neuen und effektiveren Behandlung für Sjogrens Syndrom erlauben, das erhebliches Leiden für eine große Gruppe Patienten verursacht.



69. Angst und Krise bei Patienten mit Primär-Sjogrens Syndrom.

Valtysdottir St., Gudbjornsson B, Lindqvist U, Hallgren R, Hetta J
Abteilung von Heilkunden, Universitätskrankenhaus, Uppsala, Schweden.
sigridur.valtysdottir@medicin.uu.se
J Rheumatol Jan. 2000; 27(1): 165-9

ZIEL: Zu den Grad der Angst und der Krise überprüfen und Wohl und Symptome bei Patienten mit Primär-Sjogrens Syndrom (SS) festsetzen. METHODEN: Ein standardisierter Fragebogen, die Krankenhaus-Angst und die Krisen-Skala, wurden benutzt, um den Grad der Angst und der Krise bei Patienten mit Primär-SS (n = 62) und in den altersmäßig angepassten gesunden weiblichen Kontrollen zu überprüfen. Die Gothenburg-Lebensqualität Instrument (GQOL) wurde verwendet, um Wohl und Symptome festzusetzen. Patienten mit rheumatoider Arthritis (RA; n = 38) wurden als geduldige Kontrollen verwendet. ERGEBNISSE: Die Patienten mit Primär-SS hatten erheblich höher zählende Rate für „mögliche“ klinische Angst (48%) und für „die mögliche“ klinische Depression (32%) verglichen mit Vergleichsgruppen (p<0.05). Dem körperlichen und Geisteswohl der Patienten mit Primär-SS wurde erheblich verglichen mit Kontrollen verringert. Außerdem beschwerten sich Patienten mit Primär-SS häufiger von der niedergeschlagenen Stimmung, Reizbarkeit, Kopfschmerzen, gastro-intestinale Symptome und Konzentrationsschwäche und Gedächtnis als die Patienten mit RA. SCHLUSSFOLGERUNG: Die Ergebnisse zeigen an, dass Patienten mit Primär-SS häufig psychiatrische Symptome und schlechteres Wohl haben, die möglicherweise ihre Lebensqualität beeinflussen.



70. Einzel-geblendeter kontrollierter Versuch des Niedrigdosismundifn-alphas für die Behandlung von xerostomia bei Patienten mit Sjogrens Syndrom.

Shiozawa S, Tanaka Y, Shiozawa K
Kobe University Hospital School von Medizin, Fähigkeit der Gesundheits-Wissenschaft und
Nationales Krankenhaus Kakogawa, Japan. shiozawa@ams.kobe-u.ac.jp
J-Interferon Cytokine Res Apr 1998; 18(4): 255-62

Ein einzel-geblendeter kontrollierter Versuch wurde geleitet, um die Wirksamkeit des menschlichen Interferonmündlichalphas der Niedrigdosis (IFN-Alpha) zu prüfen um Speichel- Funktion bei Patienten mit Sjogrens Syndrom zu verbessern. Sechsundfünfzig ambulante Patienten mit Primär- und 4 Patienten mit Sekundär-Sjogrens Syndrom wurden nach dem Zufall in Behandlungsgruppen entweder IFN-Alpha oder sucralfate (Steuerung) zugewiesen. Das IFN-Alpha (150 IU) oder das sucralfate (mg 250) wurden mündlich dreimal ein Tag für 6 Monate gegeben. Speichel wurde monatlich durch den sächsischen Test quantitativ bestimmt. Nach 6 Monaten der Behandlung, IFN-Alpha-behandelten 15 von 30 (50%) Patienten hatten Speichelproduktionszunahmen 100% mindestens über Grundlinie, während nur 1 von 30 (3,3%) sucralfate Patienten eine vergleichbare Zunahme hatte (p < 0,001). Die Zunahme der Speichelproduktion, durch Behandlungsgruppe, war (p < 0,01) in der IFN-Alpha behandelten Gruppe an jedem Monat nach Behandlung erheblich größer. Serienlippenspeicheldrüsebiopsien des Beantworters des IFN-Alphas 9, den Patienten dass lymphozytische Infiltration zeigten, erheblich verringert wurden (p < 0,02) und der Anteil des intakten Speicheldrüsegewebes wurde erheblich (p = 0,004) nach der IFN-Alphabehandlung erhöht. In dieser Studie verbesserte IFN-Alphatherapie erheblich Sjogrens Syndrom-Speicheldrüsefunktionsstörung.



71. [Cyclosporin in den Autoimmunerkrankungen].

Frey FJ
Medizinische Poliklinik, Inselspital Bern.
Schweiz Med Wochenschr 1990 am 26. Mai; 120(21): 772-86

Die Wirksamkeit von cyclosporine (Sandimmun) ist auf dem Gebiet der Organtransplantation gut eingerichtet. Vor kurzem, wurden zukünftige kontrollierte Versuche bei Patienten mit anderen Krankheiten durchgeführt. Die Wirksamkeit von cyclosporine für die folgenden klinischen Wesen wurde durch die Versuche nachgewiesen: endogenes uveitis, rheumatoide Arthritis, Sjogrens Syndrom, Myasthenia gravis, Psoriasis und Crohns Krankheit. Außerdem gibt es Beweis von einer kontrollierten Verhandlung irgendeines Nutzens für Patienten mit aplastischer Anämie. Die Proteinurie von Patienten mit Glomerulonephritiden wurde durch cyclosporine verringert, obwohl keine Verbesserung in der knäuelförmigen Filtrationsrate beobachtet wurde. Große kontrollierte Versuche bei Patienten mit multipler Sklerose oder Amyotrophe Lateralsklerose deckten einen nützlichen Effekt auf einige klinische Parameter auf. Dennoch kann cyclosporine nicht für diese Patienten gegenwärtig empfohlen werden, da das Verhältnis zwischen den (schätzen Sie) gering nützlichen Effekten und den Nebenwirkungen ungünstig war. Bei Patienten mit Primärgallenzirrhose, verminderte Cholestasis etwas nach der Verwaltung von cyclosporine. Ob diese Verbesserung in den Laborparametern voraussagt, hat ein verbessertes Ergebnis bei Patienten mit Primärgallenzirrhose, schon demonstriert zu werden. Einige Patienten mit vor kurzem bestimmtem abhängigem Diabetes des Insulins benötigten keine weitere Insulintherapie, solange cyclosporine verabreicht wurde. Dieses ist eine Beobachtung der ungeheuren möglichen praktischen Bedeutung während der Zukunft, wenn Methodologie möglicherweise für die Diagnose der autoimmunen Zerstörung der Beta-zellen verfügbar ist, bevor klinisch offenkundiger Diabetes anwesend ist. Cyclosporine kombinierte mit Prednison war etwas wirkungsvoller bei Patienten mit den Gräbern, die allein ophthalmopathy sind als Prednison. Für alle weiteren Autoimmunerkrankungen sind keine kontrollierten Studien mit cyclosporine gegenwärtig verfügbar. Die wichtigsten Nebenwirkungen von cyclosporine sind Nierenfunktionsstörung, Bluthochdruck, Gicht, Zittern, gingival Hyperplasie und Hypertrichosis. Diese Nebenwirkungen sind durch passende Dosierung von cyclosporine und von prophylactiken Maßen handlich. Nebenwirkungen verursachten Unterbrechung von cyclosporine Therapie in weniger als 5% der Patienten. So scheint cyclosporine, wirkungsvolles neues Behandlung einiger Gruppen des Patienten mit immunen Krankheiten zu vertreten.



72. Die Lipidunausgeglichenheit, welche die wesentlichen Fettsäuren mit einbezieht, wurde als möglicher Faktor in SS vorgeschlagen.

Studie Vereinigten Königreichs, veröffentlicht in medizinischer Hypotheses (1991).



73. Sjogrens Syndrom. Zahnmedizinische Rolle, wenn Entlastung zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

Sciubba JJ, Mandel Identifikation
Abteilung der Zahnmedizin, jüdisches Gesundheitszentrum Long Islands, neuer Hyde Park.
Zustands-Einbuchtung J 1992 N Y August/September; 58(7): 39-42

Diese oftmals unterschätzte Krankheit trägt mit ihr schwere zahnmedizinische Auswirkungen, die die Lebensqualität des Patienten beeinflussen können. Während es keine Heilung gibt, ist es möglich, Krankheitssymptome zu handhaben und irreversiblen zahnmedizinischen Schaden zu verhindern.



74. Effekt von Bakumondo? auf zur Speichel- Absonderung bei Patienten mit Sjogrens Syndrom.

Rheumatologie 1992 Jpn J; 4(2): 91? 101.

Whole Body Health Sale

Abstracts









SJOGREN'S SYNDROME
(Page 3)


Printing? Use This!
Table of Contents

bar

image 61. The effect of zinc and vitamin A supplementation on immune response in an older population.
image 62. Dietary polyunsaturated fatty acids and inflammatory mediator production.
image 63. Xerostomia. A neglected symptom.
image 64. Sjogren's syndrome. More than dry eyes and dry mouth.
image 65. Overview of Sjogren's syndrome.
image 66. Physical fitness: benefits of exercise for the older patient.
image 67. Reevaluation of laboratory parameters in relation to histological findings in primary and secondary Sjogren's syndrome.
image 68. Heredity and immunology in Sjogren's syndrome.
image 69. Anxiety and depression in patients with primary Sjogren's syndrome.
image 70. Single-blinded controlled trial of low-dose oral IFN-alpha for the treatment of xerostomia in patients with Sjogren's syndrome.
image 71. Cyclosporin in autoimmune diseases.
image 72. Lipid imbalance involving the essential fatty acids was suggested as a possible factor in SS.
image 73. Sjogren's syndrome. Dental role in providing relief.
image 74. Effect of Bakumondo?to on salivary secretion in patients with Sjogren's syndrome.


bar



61. The effect of zinc and vitamin A supplementation on immune response in an older population.

Fortes C, Forastiere F, Agabiti N, Fano V, Pacifici R, Virgili F, Piras G, Guidi
L, Bartoloni C, Tricerri A, Zuccaro P, Ebrahim S, Perucci CA
National Institute of Health, Rome, Italy.
J Am Geriatr Soc 1998 Jan;46(1):19-26

OBJECTIVE: To determine if either supplemental vitamin A, zinc, or both increases cell-mediated immune response in an older population. DESIGN: A double-blind, randomized, controlled trial of supplementation with vitamin A and zinc. SETTING: Casa Di Riposo Roma III, a public home for older people in Rome, Italy. SUBJECTS: The health and nutritional status of 178 residents were evaluated. One hundred thirty-six residents agreed to participate in the trial and were randomized into four treatment groups, and 118 of these residents completed the trial. INTERVENTION: The four treatments consisted of: (1) Vitamin A (800 micrograms retinol palmitate); (2) Zinc (25 mg as zinc sulfate); (3) Vitamin A and Zinc (800 micrograms retinol palmitate and 25 mg as zinc sulfate); (4) Placebo capsules containing starch. MAIN OUTCOME MEASUREMENTS: Immune tests-counts of leucocytes, lymphocytes, T-cell subsets, and lymphocyte proliferative response to mitogens-were measured before and after supplementation. RESULTS: Zinc increased the number of CD4 + DR + T-cells (P = .016) and cytotoxic T-lymphocytes (P = .005). Subjects treated with vitamin A experienced a reduction in the number of CD3 + T-cells (P = .012) and CD4 + T-cells (P = .012). CONCLUSIONS: These data indicate that zinc supplementation improved cell-mediated immune response, whereas vitamin A had a deleterious effect in this older population. Further research is needed to clarify the clinical significance of these findings.



62. Dietary polyunsaturated fatty acids and inflammatory mediator production.

James MJ, Gibson RA, Cleland LG
Rheumatology Unit, Royal Adelaide Hospital, Adelaide, Australia, and the
Department of Pediatrics and Child Health, Flinders Medical Center, Bedford
Park, Australia.
Am J Clin Nutr 2000 Jan;71(1 Suppl):343S-8S

Many antiinflammatory pharmaceutical products inhibit the production of certain eicosanoids and cytokines and it is here that possibilities exist for therapies that incorporate n-3 and n-9 dietary fatty acids. The proinflammatory eicosanoids prostaglandin E(2) (PGE(2)) and leukotriene B(4) (LTB(4)) are derived from the n-6 fatty acid arachidonic acid (AA), which is maintained at high cellular concentrations by the high n-6 and low n-3 polyunsaturated fatty acid content of the modern Western diet. Flaxseed oil contains the 18-carbon n-3 fatty acid alpha-linolenic acid, which can be converted after ingestion to the 20-carbon n-3 fatty acid eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA). Fish oils contain both 20- and 22-carbon n-3 fatty acids, EPA and docosahexaenoic acid. EPA can act as a competitive inhibitor of AA conversion to PGE(2) and LTB(4), and decreased synthesis of one or both of these eicosanoids has been observed after inclusion of flaxseed oil or fish oil in the diet. Analogous to the effect of n-3 fatty acids, inclusion of the 20-carbon n-9 fatty acid eicosatrienoic acid in the diet also results in decreased synthesis of LTB(4). Regarding the proinflammatory ctyokines, tumor necrosis factor alpha and interleukin 1beta, studies of healthy volunteers and rheumatoid arthritis patients have shown < or = 90% inhibition of cytokine production after dietary supplementation with fish oil. Use of flaxseed oil in domestic food preparation also reduced production of these cytokines. Novel antiinflammatory therapies can be developed that take advantage of positive interactions between the dietary fats and existing or newly developed pharmaceutical products.



63. Xerostomia. A neglected symptom.

Sreebny LM, Valdini A
Arch Intern Med 1987 Jul;147(7):1333-7

Xerostomia, the subjective feeling of dry mouth caused by a severe reduction in the flow of saliva, is a common problem that is particularly prevalent among the aged. It has become increasingly evident that dry mouth is associated with a number of serious systemic conditions and diseases. Among these are the intake of commonly prescribed medications, autoimmune diseases, and irradiation to the head and neck. The diminution in the flow of saliva may profoundly affect oral health, disturb digestion and speech, and seriously impair the patient's quality of life. Food avoidance, nonabsorption of sublingually placed drugs, and noncompliance with medication may also result. Sialometry can be used to confirm the presence of dry mouth. Treatment is aimed at increasing the flow of saliva, when possible, or providing oral moisture by other means.



64. Sjogren's syndrome. More than dry eyes and dry mouth.

Smith DL, Lucas LM
Postgrad Med 1987 Jul;82(1):123-31

Sjogren's syndrome is a complex disease state with multisystem manifestations. Two forms of the disease, primary and secondary, are recognized; the secondary form is more easily diagnosed because of its association with an already established rheumatic or autoimmune disease. Treatment consists of measures to prevent damage from ocular and oral dryness (sicca complex) and to minimize systemic manifestations.



65. Overview of Sjogren's syndrome.

Talal N
J Dent Res 1987 Feb;66 Spec No:672-4

Sjogren's syndrome, a chronic inflammatory and autoimmune disorder (Shoenfeld and Schwartz, 1984; Smith and Steinberg, 1983), is characterized by diminished lacrimal and salivary gland secretion (sicca complex), resulting in keratoconjunctivitis sicca (KCS) and xerostomia. As originally described, the syndrome consisted of a triad of dry eyes, dry mouth, and rheumatoid arthritis. We now know that other connective tissue diseases (e.g., systemic lupus erythematosus, progressive systemic sclerosis, and polymyositis) may be present in place of rheumatoid arthritis, and that the sicca complex can exist as a primary pathologic entity with no associated disorder (Strand and Talal, 1980; Talal, 1985). Moreover, generalized lymphoproliferation, pseudolymphoma, or even lymphoid malignancy may appear in some patients (Talal and Bunim, 1964; Talal et al., 1967). More than 90% of patients are women, with a mean age of 50 years at diagnosis. The disease occurs in all races and all ages.



66. Physical fitness: benefits of exercise for the older patient. 2.

Butler RN, Davis R, Lewis CB, Nelson ME, Strauss E
Department of Geriatrics and Adult Development, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New
York, USA.
Geriatrics 1998 Oct;53(10):46, 49-52, 61-2

Exercise provides important benefits for older adults in the areas of cardiovascular function, strength and muscle mass, postural stability, and psychological function. These benefits can be achieved by those who are healthy, as well as by the frail and very old. Physicians can use a simple screening test to identify patients at risk for loss of mobility and function due to muscle weakness. Exercise helps prevent hip fractures from falls by increasing bone density, coordination, balance, and muscle strength. It is also an important treatment for patients with arthritis, Parkinson's disease, stroke, and other chronic diseases of aging. Patients who exercise show improvements in depressive symptoms and sleep disorders.



67. Reevaluation of laboratory parameters in relation to histological findings in primary and secondary Sjogren's syndrome.

Ohara T, Itoh Y, Itoh K
Department of Clinical Pathology, Jichi Medical School, Tochigi.
Intern Med 2000 Jun;39(6):457-63

OBJECTIVE: We reevaluated the diagnostic value of laboratory parameters in relation to histopathological findings in Sjogren's syndrome (SS) to clarify whether autoantibodies are useful diagnostic criteria for SS, and whether any laboratory data are useful in estimating the degree of salivary gland change. PATIENTS AND METHODS: Laboratory parameters and histopathological findings were analyzed in 96 patients examined by labial biopsy. RESULTS: The percentage of cases with positive assays of rheumatoid factor and anti-SS-A/Ro antibodies was significantly higher in Definite SS. Patients with dense mononuclear cell infiltration of salivary tissues also had higher titers of rheumatoid factor. No useful laboratory parameters were found for the diagnosis of secondary SS. CONCLUSION: Rheumatoid factor and anti-SS-A/Ro antibodies are useful for the diagnosis of primary SS, and rheumatoid factor is also an indicator of the severity of salivary glandular damage.



68. [Heredity and immunology in Sjogren's syndrome].

[Article in Norwegian]
Jonsson R, Nakken B, Halse AK, Skarstein K, Brokstad K, Haga HJ
Broegelmanns Forskningslaboratorium Armauer Hansens hus Haukeland Sykehus,
Bergen.
Tidsskr Nor Laegeforen 2000 Mar 10;120(7):811-4

BACKGROUND: Over the next 3-5 years, the rapid progress in genomic research will enable the discovery of many genes associated with the more common diseases. An example of such a common disease is the rheumatic disorder Sjogren's syndrome, an autoimmune disease. A more precise genetic explanation of the mechanism leading to Sjogren's syndrome remains to be given. MATERIAL AND METHODS: One way of investigating the disease related genes in such complex polygenic diseases is to perform linkage studies in families with two or more affected. Another possibility is to conduct association studies on trios (parents and affected child), case control studies, or other experimental designs. In association studies one is testing if an allele is significantly elevated among patients compared to controls, while in linkage analyses one finds subchromosomal regions that are significantly more often inherited by patients than by healthy family members. RESULTS: The most well defined genetic association in Sjogren's syndrome is currently related to different HLA alleles and their association with anti-Ro/SSA and anti-La/SSB autoantibodies. Additional genetic studies focusing on non-HLA regions are under way. INTERPRETATION: Increased genetic knowledge would allow optimisation of the diagnostic criteria as well as development of new and more effective treatment for Sjogren's syndrome, which causes substantial suffering for a large group of patients.



69. Anxiety and depression in patients with primary Sjogren's syndrome.

Valtysdottir ST, Gudbjornsson B, Lindqvist U, Hallgren R, Hetta J
Department of Medical Sciences, University Hospital, Uppsala, Sweden.
sigridur.valtysdottir@medicin.uu.se
J Rheumatol 2000 Jan;27(1):165-9

OBJECTIVE: To examine the degree of anxiety and depression and to assess well being and general symptoms in patients with primary Sjogren's syndrome (SS). METHODS: A standardized questionnaire, the Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale, was used to examine the degree of anxiety and depression in patients with primary SS (n = 62) and in age matched healthy female controls. The Gothenburg quality of life instrument (GQOL) was used to assess well being and general symptoms. Patients with rheumatoid arthritis (RA; n = 38) were used as patient controls. RESULTS: The patients with primary SS had significantly higher scoring rate for "possible" clinical anxiety (48%) and for "possible" clinical depression (32%) compared with reference groups (p<0.05). The physical and mental well being of the patients with primary SS were significantly reduced compared with controls. Furthermore, patients with primary SS complained more commonly of low mood, irritability, headache, gastrointestinal symptoms, and impaired concentration and memory than the patients with RA. CONCLUSION: The results indicate that patients with primary SS often have psychiatric symptoms and worse well being, which may affect their quality of life.



70. Single-blinded controlled trial of low-dose oral IFN-alpha for the treatment of xerostomia in patients with Sjogren's syndrome.

Shiozawa S, Tanaka Y, Shiozawa K
Kobe University Hospital School of Medicine, Faculty of Health Science, and
Kakogawa National Hospital, Japan. shiozawa@ams.kobe-u.ac.jp
J Interferon Cytokine Res 1998 Apr;18(4):255-62

A single-blinded controlled trial was conducted to test the efficacy of low-dose oral human interferon-alpha (IFN-alpha) to improve salivary function in patients with Sjogren's syndrome. Fifty-six outpatients with primary and 4 patients with secondary Sjogren's syndrome were assigned randomly into treatment groups of either IFN-alpha or sucralfate (control). The IFN-alpha (150 IU) or sucralfate (250 mg) was given orally three times a day for 6 months. Saliva was quantitated monthly by the Saxon test. After 6 months of treatment, 15 of 30 (50%) IFN-alpha-treated patients had saliva production increases at least 100% above baseline, whereas only 1 of 30 (3.3%) sucralfate patients had a comparable increase (p < 0.001). The increase in saliva production, by treatment group, was significantly greater (p < 0.01) in the IFN-alpha treated group at every month after treatment. Serial labial salivary gland biopsies of 9 IFN-alpha responder patients showed that lymphocytic infiltration was significantly decreased (p < 0.02) and the proportion of intact salivary gland tissue was significantly increased (p = 0.004) after the IFN-alpha treatment. In this study, IFN-alpha therapy significantly improved Sjogren's syndrome salivary gland dysfunction.



71. [Cyclosporin in autoimmune diseases].

Frey FJ
Medizinische Poliklinik, Inselspital Bern.
Schweiz Med Wochenschr 1990 May 26;120(21):772-86

The efficacy of cyclosporine (Sandimmun) is well established in the field of organ transplantation. More recently, prospective controlled trials were performed in patients with other diseases. The efficacy of cyclosporine for the following clinical entities was proven by the trials: endogenous uveitis, rheumatoid arthritis, Sjogren's syndrome, myasthenia gravis, psoriasis and Crohn's disease. Furthermore, there is evidence from a controlled trial of some benefit for patients with aplastic anemia. The proteinuria of patients with glomerulonephritis was reduced by cyclosporine, though no improvement in glomerular filtration rate was observed. Large controlled trials in patients with multiple sclerosis or amyotrophic lateral sclerosis revealed a beneficial effect on some clinical parameters. Nevertheless, cyclosporine cannot be recommended for these patients at the present time, since the ratio between the (slight) beneficial effects and the side effects was unfavourable. In patients with primary biliary cirrhosis, cholestasis slightly diminished after the administration of cyclosporine. Whether this improvement in laboratory parameters predicts an improved outcome in patients with primary biliary cirrhosis has yet to be demonstrated. Some patients with recently diagnosed insulin dependent diabetes needed no further insulin therapy as long as cyclosporine was administered. This is an observation of tremendous potential practical relevance for the future, when methodology may be available for diagnosing autoimmune destruction of beta-cells before clinically overt diabetes is present. Cyclosporine combined with prednisone was slightly more efficacious in patients with Graves' ophthalmopathy than prednisone alone. For all other autoimmune diseases, no controlled studies with cyclosporine are available at the present time. The most important side effects of cyclosporine are renal dysfunction, hypertension, gout, tremor, gingival hyperplasia and hypertrichosis. These side effects are manageable by appropriate dosage of cyclosporine and prophylactic measures. Side effects caused interruption of cyclosporine therapy in less than 5% of the patients. Thus, cyclosporine appears to be an efficacious new agent for treatment of some groups of patient with immune diseases.



72. Lipid imbalance involving the essential fatty acids was suggested as a possible factor in SS.

United Kingdom study, published in Medical Hypotheses (1991).



73. Sjogren's syndrome. Dental role in providing relief.

Sciubba JJ, Mandel ID
Department of Dental Medicine, Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New Hyde Park.
N Y State Dent J 1992 Aug-Sep;58(7):39-42

This oftentimes underappreciated disease carries with it severe dental implications, all of which can affect the patient's quality of life. While there is no cure, it is possible to manage disease symptoms and to prevent irreversible dental damage.



74. Effect of Bakumondo?to on salivary secretion in patients with Sjogren's syndrome.

Jpn J Rheumatology 1992;4(2):91?101.